Local government 

Montgomery County is governed by a Board of Supervisors, with members elected from each of the seven districts. In January, the board elects a chair and vice chair. Public meetings, which may include advertised public hearings, are held on the second and fourth Mondays of each month at 7:15 p.m. The Board of Supervisors hires a County Administrator and a Deputy County Administrator to carry out the day-to-day business of the county. Other administrative positions in county government include directors of economic development, fiscal management, human services, libraries, planning, recreation, social services and voter registration.

Constitutional Officers include the Clerk of the Circuit Court, Commissioner of the Revenue, Commonwealth’s Attorney, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Elections for the Clerk of the Circuit Court are held every eight years and the rest of these officers are elected every fourth year.

The incorporated towns of Christiansburg and Blacksburg are governed by elected town councils and mayors. Both have a town manager who administers fiscal responsibilities. Council meetings are public and are held on Tuesdays (Christiansburg, first and third; Blacksburg, second and fourth).

The county supports an excellent public school system for county and town residents. School board members from each district are elected for four-year terms, and a superintendent and staff oversee operations and curriculum for approximately 9,600 students in the 20 elementary, middle and high schools.
  • Links