Volunteer Montgomery Celebrates 50th Anniversary

RSVP Recognized at May 22 Board of Supervisors MeetingVolunteer Montgomery (formerly known as RSVP) celebrated its 50th Anniversary this year. 

To commemorate the anniversary, a 50th Anniversary video was shared both at a luncheon on May 19 and at the May 22, 2023, Montgomery County Board of Supervisors meeting. The Board of Supervisors also unanimously approved a proclamation, recognizing the RSVP Program at their May 8 meeting as well. 
The anniversary celebration luncheon was on May 19 at the Inn at Virginia Tech in Blacksburg with approximately 90 attending. Sherri Blevins, Chair of the Montgomery County Board of Supervisors, and County Administrator Craig Meadows were in attendance to present volunteers with Years of Service Awards. Guest speakers included Volunteer Rosemary Jones and Lt. Mark Hollandsworth of the Montgomery County Sheriff’s Office. 

Entertainment was provided by Erin Krug of the Virginia Tech Music Department.  Volunteer Montgomery extends a special thanks to the 2023 Volunteer Celebration Planning Committee: Carol Cornish, Rosemary Jones, Deborah Lovelace, Kathy Mills, Jill Songer, and Tonia Winn. Photography was provided by Whitescarver Photography, LLC.

Thirty volunteers were recognized at the luncheon to include: 
  • 20 Years: Barbara Scott, Lois Wade, and Mazie Wimmer.
  • 15 Years: Sarah Carter, William Chrisman, Dorothy Finch, Erma Jones, Marjorie Vitale, and Susan Walton.
  • 10 Years: Tamara Bean, Sharon Brown, Betty Conary, Ronald Flanary, Joyce Griffin, Ila Groseclose, Roberta Hall, Polly Myers, Nancy Norton, Lou Reynolds, James Wilson, and Spencer Winfrey.
  • 5 Years: Nancy Collins, Don Conner, Irene Dowdy, Barbara Parrish, Diane Rencsok, Brian Sanchez, Robert Stimson, Patricia Traynor, and Claude Wimmer.
RSVP 15 Years of Service Awards
15 Years of Service: Sarah Carter and Erma Jones.

RSVP 10 Years of Service Awards
10 Years of Service: (L to R) Coordinator Mandy Hayes, Sharon Brown, Polly Myers, Tami Bean, Program Assistant Ava Stilwell.

RSVP 5 Years of Service Awards
5 Years of Service: (L to R) Irene Dowdy, Barbara Parrish, Don Conner, Coordinator Mandy Hayes.

Learn more about Volunteer Montgomery at