The Virginia Department of Forestry announced the Burning Law
is currently in effect through Apr. 30, 2021.
- There is no burning allowed before 4 p.m. if burning within 300 feet of woodland or grass or brushland leading into woodlands.
- When burning, the fire must be attended at all times if within 150 feet of woodland or grass or brushland leading into woodlands.
- No fuel may be added or fire rekindled after midnight.
This law applies to camp fires, warming fires, brush piles, household trash, stumps, fields or broomstraw and brush, or anything capable of spreading fire.
A violation of this law is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine. In addition to the criminal violation, those who allow a fire to escape are liable for the cost of suppressing the fire as well as any damage caused to others' property.
For more information, contact the Virginia Department of Forestry